Delivered with Good Cheer

September 22, 2012 § 2 Comments

Yesterday I happened to be home for lunch when the mail arrived.  There was a package for me, so the letter carrier–not the one who most often covers my route–brought the mail up to the front door.  As he came up the walkway, he called out in a town crier sort of way, “Mailman! Mail call for the house!”  I opened the door to find him grinning on my doorstep.  “What did you think of that announcement?” he asked, beaming.  “It was excellent,” I assured him.  He handed me the mail and laughed, “I haven’t tried singing one yet, but maybe tomorrow.”

One can only hope!

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Delivered with Good Cheer

  • Jen says:

    One of the things I love about living in town is that we have a mailbox on the porch, so we know our mailman. Honestly, I don’t know his name–I should ask–but I see him around town all the time, and we wave at one another. It’s like living on Sesame Street.

    • Annie says:

      Like pretty much everything I love in life, mail is about making great connections with people, including the mailman! Our regular mailman made a point of introducing himself not long after we moved in, which I thought I was really neat.

Thoughts? Please share!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Delivered with Good Cheer at Scribbling Glue.

meta

