Scribbling Glue’s Guide to USPS Postal Rates

January 26, 2013 § 14 Comments

One of the fun little takeaways that I made for December’s Letter Writing Social was a postal rate sheet.  I figured that people who aren’t currently avid letter writers might like a handy reference to help sort out the mysteries of proper postage.  Since we were making envelopes that weren’t standard sizes, it was especially helpful to have a quick guide to double-check how much postage a particular mailpiece was going to need.

To my delight, the Letter Writers Alliance later featured a photo of my rate sheet as one of their Letter Writing Days of December posts.  I got some lovely feedback, which encouraged me to follow through and create a revised version to reflect the 2013 rate changes.

And now–ta-da!–just in time for the changes that go into effect tomorrow, here it is!

SGRates2013edited

I enjoy writing things out by hand and I do a fair amount of computer-based design layout for posters and brochures at work, but the combination of creating by hand and designing a layout placed me outside of the realm where things come easily.  I’m so accustomed to (and spoiled by) being able to tweak, align, re-size, and move elements on a whim.  This project required making rough drafts and marshaling my spacial reasoning skills.  In short, it was an excellent challenge for my brain.  I am pleased with the end result since this is only the second time that I’ve attempted designing something along these lines, but my eraser definitely got a good workout along the way!

If you are so inclined–and I do hope you are–you are welcome to download a copy.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Scribbling Glue’s Guide to USPS Postal Rates

Thoughts? Please share!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Scribbling Glue’s Guide to USPS Postal Rates at Scribbling Glue.

meta

