Peaches

July 15, 2014 § 10 Comments

On Saturday I bought peaches at the farmers’ market.  They were juicy ripe and everything fresh local peaches should be.

peaches

When I approached White Marsh Orchard‘s table, I was surprised to be greeted by name.  This isn’t an unusual occurrence in my small town, but I didn’t remember the orchard owners knowing my name last summer.

Then she said, “It was so lovely to get your note,” and he chimed in, “Really thoughtful of you.”

And I suddenly remembered that last fall, when reflecting with some sadness that peaches wouldn’t be in season again for many months, I had been inspired to look up the orchard’s address so I could write and say how much I enjoyed their peaches all summer.  I’d signed my name, of course, and made mention of my red market basket so they’d have a clue who I was.

They clearly figured it out.

We talked a couple minutes about our mutual appreciation of both peaches and real letters.  It got me thinking (not for the first time) about making the choice to express appreciation and what a positive impact it can have.  As a result, I’m challenging myself to write more notes of thanks for the little things that make life better.

What are you enjoying these days?  Do you ever send unexpected thank you notes?

Tagged: ,

§ 10 Responses to Peaches

  • How auspicious that you shared this. I feel like I’ve just discovered peaches this year and can’t get enough. Are they better than ever? Or is it just finding a long lost love? And, yes, I stockpile the cool thank you cards from Trader Joe’s and send them at whim. (Not sure if that’s grammatically correct.)

    • Annie says:

      Peaches have long been a favorite of mine, so I can’t say if they are better than ever. I’m impressed and delighted by them every year!

      I am not a bit surprised to hear that you are a thank-you-card-on-a-whim type, Barbara. I’d imagine there’s a high correlation between those who live joyful lives and those who express appreciation.

  • Sally says:

    Last Saturday, I bought my first-of-the-season peaches from Charlene at the farmer’s market in St. Michaels. Holy smoke! I’m milking them–if that’s possible with a peach–and can’t wait to buy more on Saturday.

  • Pam Foster says:

    What a wonderful story!

  • Jen says:

    It’s not coincidence that I cooked the crumble in time for your arrival. I knew you would enjoy and appreciate it as much as I did.

  • Mrs. Duffy says:

    Oh wow! What an encouragement to send notes. Without that note they might not have remembered you let alone know your name. Thanks for sharing.

    • Annie says:

      Thanks for reading, Mrs. Duffy. :)

      Because I write and receive letters regularly, I sometimes forget that personal mail is an unusual thing for many people. The conversation I had with them about letter writing reminded me that a) I’m lucky in mail and b) writing notes really does create points of connection.

Thoughts? Please share!

What’s this?

You are currently reading Peaches at Scribbling Glue.

meta

